The International Aeolus Competition for Wind Instruments has firmly established itself as a worldwide recognized stage for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Saxophone, Trumpet, Horn, Trombone and Tuba. It takes place once a year in Düsseldorf since 2006.

Aeolus Competition is open to young musicians of all nationalities younger than 28 years. Each year three of the Instrument groups are opened for competition: 2020 the competition calls for Horn, Clarinet and Saxophone. The total prize money is € 60,000, the first prize wins € 20,000.

19. May 2020

Aeolus competition defies Corona

Picture of carefree times: Opening of the Competition in 2018

„The Corona Pandemic leaves many questions unanswered” says the initiator of the competition Sieghardt Rometsch. “Will the young musicians be prepared to enter from abroad even if they have to undergo a two week quarantine? Do the candidates have an adequate environment to practice and to prepare themselves?”

19. May 2020

The selection of participants has been made

The invitations to the selected participants have been sent out.

The participants, which were admitted, have meanwhile been informed.

Despite the fact that the Corona Crisis has practically paralyzed the whole musical life, there were a total of 187 applications from 43 different countries. 44 for Horn, 75 for Clarinet und 68 for Saxophone.

We hope with all participants that the months of intensive preparation will remain undisturbed and that we can welcome them all in Düsseldorf in September.

If the competition can be successfully held, the audience can expect the horn concerto in E flat major K. 495 and the clarinet concerto in A major K. 622 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and the Poème of Pierre Philipp Bauzin for saxophone for the Final concert in the Tonhalle Düsseldorf.

Aeolus Competition

22. September 2019

First Price for Jonathon Ramsay

(from left) Philippe Schwarz, Jonathon Ramsay, Ross Knight, Lennard Czakaj

The winner of the first prize of the 14th International Aeolus Competition and winner of of the Audience Award is Jonathon Ramsay.

15. June 2016

What has become of the prize-winners ?

Ross Knight - Winner 2019
Orchestre de la Suisse Romande - Solo Tuba
Bora Demir - Winner 2018
Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin - Solo Horn
Pascal Deuber - Winner 2018
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg - Solo Horn